no avatar

Western Reserve's Wyers is FC Player of the Year

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Updated Mar 6, 2019 at 2:37 PM

Western Reserve girls basketball senior Cora Wyers was named the Firelands Conference Player of the Year, the league announced on Tuesday.

Wyers, a 6-foot center, averaged 16.1 points, 8.7 rebounds and 3.3 blocks per game for the Roughriders, who finished 18-5 overall — and a perfect 14-0 in the FC. Wyers shot 47 percent from the field and 71 percent from the free-throw line this season in also helping the ‘Riders to a Division III sectional title.

She finished as the program’s all-time career points leader, and also holds records for blocks in a game, season and career at the school. Wyers was a three-time first team selection for Western, which has won three straight FC titles.

Joining Wyers on the first team was her teammate, senior Jenna Skrada. She averaged 6.5 points, 2.5 rebounds and 2.1 steals per game. St. Paul’s Danielle Smith (14.7 points, 4.7 rebounds) and Megan Hammersmith were also first team selections, as was New London senior Gabby Ledbetter (12.7 points, 11.2 rebounds). 

Earning spots on the second team included South Central’s Holly Hale, Ally Burton and Ellery McKee. They were joined by Western’s Emma Blankenship, New London’s Kiaya Thierry and Plymouth’s Tristen Wiley.

Honorable mention selections included Anna Lukasko (St. Paul); Kelsie Palmer (Monroeville); Katie Hipp (Western Reserve); Courtney Shepherd (South Central); Megan Conrad (New London) and Kelsey Blankenship (Plymouth).

Western Reserve’s Brenda Friend was the league’s Coach of the Year. She returned to coach the ‘Riders this season and won her 200th game at the school while guiding them to a 14-0 FC record.


All-Firelands Conference girls basketball teams

First team: Cora Wyers, Western Reserve, Sr.; Jenna Skrada, Western Reserve, Sr.; Danielle Smith, St. Paul, So.; Megan Hammersmith, St. Paul, Jr.; Kathleen Leeper, Crestview, Jr.; Kenedi Goon, Crestview, So.; Gabby Ledbetter, New London, Sr.

Second team: Sloan Welch, Mapleton, Sr.; Emma Blankenship, Western Reserve, Sr.; Holly Hale, South Central, Sr.; Ally Burton, South Central, Jr.; Ellery McKee, South Central, Jr.; Kiaya Thierry, New London, So.; Tristen Wiley, Plymouth, Sr.

Honorable mention: Anna Lukasko, St. Paul, Jr.; Cacie Stalnaker, Mapleton, So.; Kelsie Palmer, Monroeville, Jr.; Emily Fry, Crestview, Jr.; Katie Hipp, Western Reserve, Sr.; Courtney Shepherd, South Central, Sr.; Megan Conrad, New London, Sr.; Kelsey Blankenship, Plymouth, Sr.

Player of the Year: Cora Wyers, Western Reserve

Coach of the Year: Brenda Friend, Western Reserve

Norwalk Reflector Videos