no avatar

Norwalk's Haraway is SBC Lake Player of the Year

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Feb 28, 2019 at 12:00 PM

As expected, Norwalk senior guard Brandon Haraway was a unanimous choice as the SBC Lake Division Most Outstanding Player, the league announced on Wednesday.

Haraway averaged 20.5 points, 6.5 rebounds, 4.3 assists, 2.9 steals and 0.7 blocks per game in the regular season for the Truckers (19-3), who lost one league game on a last-second shot this season as SBC Lake champions.

A Division II Ashland University recruit, Haraway finished first or third in all five league categories this season. He shot 49 percent from the floor and 74 percent from the free-throw line.

Entering Friday’s Div. II sectional title game at 6:15 p.m. vs. Perkins at Willard, Haraway — also the OHSBCA Div. II District 6 Player of the Year — is sixth all-time in career points and ninth in single-season points at Norwalk.

Also for the Truckers, Garrett Chapin was a second team selection. The sophomore averaged 9.5 points and was second in the league at 6.9 rebounds per contest.

Bellevue had a pair of players earn recognition in junior Caleb Marshall on second team and senior Trey Ruhlman on honorable mention. Marshall averaged 14.1 points and 8.6 rebounds per game — the latter which was No. 1 in the league.


Willard’s Parrott first team

In the Bay Division, Willard junior Cooper Parrott was a unanimous selection to the first team.

Parrott, also the OHSBCA Div. III District 6 Player of the Year, averaged 18.4 points, 4.8 rebounds, 3.9 assists and 2.6 steals per game.

The Crimson Flashes shared the league title with Vermilion, the first for the program in 13 years.

Willard (19-3, 10-2) has won 14 straight games entering its Div. III sectional title game vs. Ashland Crestview on Friday.

Also for Willard, Myles Pinkston (8.9 points, 7.7 rebounds) and Davon Triplett (11.5 points, 6.6 rebounds) were selected to the second team, while Terry Baldridge was honorable mention.

Edison’s Larry Kessler (12.9 points) was second team, while Carson Ehrhardt was honorable mention.

Vermilion’s Mason Montgomery was the Most Outstanding Player.


All-SBC boys basketball teams


First team: *Brandon Haraway, Norwalk, 12; *Tahj Staveskie, Sandusky, 11; *Derick Harrah, Clyde, 12; *Dylon Jones, Sandusky, 11; *Cameron Farrar, Clyde, 12.

Second team: Caleb Marshall, Bellevue, 11; Drew McVeigh, Perkins, 12; LJ Reaves, Columbian, 10; Garrett Chapin, Norwalk, 10; Will Dowling, Clyde, 11.

Honorable mention: Sam Siegel, Perkins, 10; Jayden Greene, Sandusky, 12; Trey Ruhlman, Bellevue, 12; Davaunte Brockington, Columbian, 10; Joe Printy, Perkins, 12.

Most Outstanding Player: Brandon Haraway, Norwalk
* — denotes unanimous choice


First team: *Mason Montgomery, Vermilion, 12; *Jac Alexander, Oak Harbor, 11; *Cooper Parrott, Willard, 11; *Jonah Pfeil, Vermilion, 12; Dylan Morris, Margaretta, 12; *Drew Wennes, Huron, 11

Second team: Myles Pinkston, Willard, 10; Mitch Raifsnider, Margaretta, 10; Davon Triplett, Willard, 12; Nick Leibacher, Margaretta, 12; Reese Miller, Vermilion, 12; Larry Kessler, Edison, 12

Honorable mention: Clay Schulte, Oak Harbor, 11; Casey Scroggins, Huron, 11; Terry Baldridge, Willard, 11; Seth Hurd, Vermilion, 12; Max Brenner, Port Clinton, 12; Carson Ehrhardt, Edison, 12

Most Outstanding Player: Mason Montgomery, Vermilion, 12