no avatar

Western's Wyers, Bellevue's Santoro voted District 6 Players of the Year

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Updated Feb 15, 2019 at 3:15 AM

Western Reserve's Cora Wyers and Bellevue's Casey Santoro earned Player of the Year honors in their respective divisions on the Ohio High School Basketball Coaches Association District 6 teams, it was announced this week.

In Division III, Wyers helped lead the Roughriders (15-4) to a third straight Firelands Conference championship this season. She averages 16.8 points, 8.2 rebounds and 2.3 blocks per game.

Also in Div. III, Edison's Aliyah Caporini was selected to the first team. She averaged 10.2 points, 4.5 rebounds, 3.2 assists and 4.2 steals per game this season for the Chargers (17-5).

Second team selections in Div. III included Edison's Alana Fidler (9.0 points, 3.7 rebounds, 2.8 assists), New London's Gabby Ledbetter (12.9 points, 10.0 rebounds, 2.5 blocks) and Plymouth's Tristen Wiley (13.3 points).

Honorable mention selections included Western's Jenna Skrada and Emma Blankenship, Plymouth's Emily Blanton, New London's Kiaya Thierry and Edison's Hannah Vitaz (8.5 points, 6.4 rebounds).


Division II

Santoro selected POY

Recent Kent State University commit Casey Santoro, a junior guard for state-ranked Bellevue, was voted as the Player of the Year by the District 6 coaches in Div. II.

Through 19 games, Santoro averaged 22.1 points, 6.2 rebounds, 3.5 assists and 3.6 steals per game for the Lady Red (18-2). Her younger sister, sophomore Cory Santoro, joined her on first team after averaging 16.9 points, 3.4 rebounds and 3.4 steals per game.

Also on first team from the area is Willard standout Cassidy Crawford. The junior averages 20.2 points, 9.1 rebounds, 2.2 assists and 2.6 steals per game for the Flashes (18-4).

Earning second team in Div. II was Bellevue's Payton Vogel (9.1 points, 6.2 rebounds, 3.9 assists, 4.3 steals), while Norwalk's Elena Barber (10.7 points, 5.9 rebounds) was honorable mention.


Division IV

St. Paul's Smith first team

St. Paul sophomore Danielle Smith earned a spot on the first team in Div. IV after averaging 14 points and 3.7 steals per game for the Lady Flyers (16-6).

Also from St. Paul, Megan Hammersmith was on the second team, while South Central's Ally Burton (8.4 rebounds) was honorable mention.


OHSBCA District 6 girls teams

Division II

First team: Casey Santoro, Bellevue; Cassidy Crawford, Willard; Olivia Howard, Perkins; Cory Santoro, Bellevue; Kaia Woods, Tiffin Columbian; Talazha Catchings, Mansfield Senior; Baily Walter, Shelby.

Second team: Carleigh Pearson, Ontario; Marissa Esposito, Sandusky; Alexis Fogle, Upper Sandusky; Nancy Siegel, Perkins; Emma Randall, Shelby; Payton Vogel, Bellevue; Sophia Eli, Oak Harbor.

Honorable mention: Brooklynn Arnold, Mansfield Madison; Abby Dryfuse, Tiffin Columbian; Gabby Stover, Lexington; Chesney Davis, Mansfield Madison; Elena Barber, Norwalk; Alexis Keegan, Clyde; Aleena Winston, Perkins; Kali Weikle, Clear Fork; Avery Coleman, Lexington; Cierra Gurney, Shelby; Jackie Smith, Clyde.

Player of the Year: Casey Santoro, Bellevue

Coach of the Year: Natalie Lantz, Shelby; Brian Heck, Perkins

Division III

First team: Cora Wyers, Western Reserve; Kathleen Leeper, Crestview; Marina Adachi, Seneca East; Jessica Bowerman, Seneca East; Jayden Moore, Margaretta; Taylor Malson, Margaretta; Aliyah Caporini, Edison.

Second team: Tristen Wiley, Plymouth; Danielle Horseley, Colonel Crawford; Gabby Ledbetter, New London; Kenedi Goon, Crestview; Gracie Groves, Galion; Kennedi Hilton, Margaretta; Alana Fidler, Edison.

Honorable mention: Gabby Kaple, Galion; Nl’Georgia Floyd, Bucyrus; Emily Siesel, Seneca East; Emily Blanton, Plymouth; Kiaya Thierry, New London; Faythe Smetzer, Margaretta; Hannah Vitaz, Edison; Allison Teglovic, Colonel Crawford; Kaylyn Risner, Colonel Crawford; Jenna Skrada, Western Reserve; Emma Blankenship, Western Reserve.

Player of the Year: Cora Wyers, Western Reserve

Coach of the Year: Eric Kochendoerfer, Margaretta

Division IV

First team: Makayla Elmore, Hopewell Loudon; Jessica Grover, Lucas; Cladia Pifher, Buckeye Central; Courtney Pifher, Buckeye Central; Danielle Smith, St. Paul; Olivia Zender, Hopewell Loudon; Brooklyn Gillig, New Riegel; Olivia Grove, Wynford; Morgan Miller, Old Fort.

Second team: Emily Milltello, SJCC; Lauryn Tadda, Crestline; Megan Hammersmith, St. Paul; Aubrey Boullion, New Riegel; Sydney Cavanaugh, St. Peter’s; Shelby Hemminger, Calvert; Lyndie Williams, Wynford; Paige Arnold, Lucas; Taylor Ratliff, Buckeye Central.

Honorable mention: Ashley Maiyer, Mansfield Christian; Bry Vander Bosch, Riverdale; Brooke Kuenzli, Riverdale; Julia Rizzo, St. Peter’s; Morgan Spitler, Lucas; Alexa Gabel, Lakota; Ashley Huntley, SMCC; Lexi Evak, Buckeye Central; Hannah Lonsway, Carey; Aubrey Margrof, Mohawk; Laini Gillett, Old Fort; Tre McCarty, SMCC; Jamie Grover, Lucas; Ally Burton, South Central.

Player of the Year: Makayla Elmore, Hopewell Loudon

Coach of the Year: Bob Gase, Hopewell Loudon

Norwalk Reflector Videos