no avatar

South Central's Blair voted FC Player of the Year

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Mar 11, 2018 at 6:00 PM

South Central sophomore Simon Blair was selected as the Firelands Conference Player of the Year, the league announced on Thursday.

A 5-foot-9 guard, Blair averaged 19.4 points, 3.1 rebounds, 3.8 assists and 2.2 steals per game while helping the Trojans share the conference title with Western Reserve this season.

Both the Trojans (15-8) and Roughriders (15-7) won the home head-to-head meeting in the regular season, and each finished with identical 12-2 FC records.

Joining Blair on the first team for South Central was senior Ben Lamoreaux. The senior averaged 16 points and 6.1 rebounds per game.

For Western, 5-11 junior guard Brayden Hood was a first-team selection. He averaged 14.7 points, 6.5 rebounds, 2.3 assists and 2.1 steals per game for the Roughriders.

Hood was joined on the first team by senior guard Dale Smith, who averaged 10 points, 6.2 rebounds and six assists per game this season, along with Aiden Markley. A junior, Markley averaged 12.8 points and 2.5 assists per game. 

Smith set the career (304) and single-season (304) assists record at Western, while Markley’s 71 3-pointers this season is also a program record.

Rounding out the first team included a pair of juniors from New London and Plymouth. Karson Howell averaged 14.5 points, 4.6 rebounds and 4.6 assists per contest for the Wildcats, while Jacob Adams averaged 17.2 points, 8.6 rebounds and 4.6 assists per game for the Big Red.

St. Paul’s Chris Ruffing and Nick Winslow each were voted to the second team, as was New London’s Justin Marshall and Ashton Carruthers; Western’s Pierce Livermore and South Central’s Isaiah Seidel.


All-Firelands Conference boys basketball teams

First team: Jacob Adams, Plymouth, Jr.; Brayden Hood, Western Reserve, Jr.; Dale Smith, Western Reserve, Sr.; Aiden Markley, Western Reserve, Jr.; Karson Howell, New London, Jr.; Simon Blair, South Central, So.; Ben Lamoreaux, South Central, Sr.

Second team: Pierce Livermore, Western Reserve, Sr.; Justin Marshall, New London, Sr.; Ashton Carruthers, New London, Jr.; Isaiah Seidel, South Central, So.; Chris Ruffing, St. Paul, Sr.; Nick Winslow, St. Paul, Fr.; Nic Stimpert, Crestview, Sr.

Honorable mention: Logan Hensel, Mapleton, Sr.; Camden Roman, Crestview, Sr.; Paul Pearce, St. Paul, Sr.; Matt Perkins, Western Reserve, Sr.; Dane Matthews, New London, Sr.; Kade Collins, Plymouth, Jr.; Alex Holland, South Central, Jr.; Cody Schaffer, Monroeville, So.

Player of the Year: Simon Blair, South Central.

Coach of the Year: Brett Seidel, South Central.

Recommended for You

    Norwalk Reflector Videos